You are Here:
Mil vs. moa

Author (Read 3701 times)

Mil vs. moa
« on: January 14, 2016, 06:00:55 AM »

Tandemdooley

• Target Painter
  • FNG
Wondering what the benefit of switching to mills would be. I've been using moa for several years and have no issue shoot prairie dogs out to 800 with it but going to try and stretch out to the 1400 range and was debating learning mills (I know it's not that hard) or just sticking with moa. Main reason to switch is one of my shooting,hunting, and completion buddies is there already so it would make calls easier. Thanks just looking for some input.

Re: Mil vs. moa
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2016, 10:15:12 AM »

gebhardt02

• Target Painter
  • FNG
I switched over to mils a couple years ago when I started getting into shooting more competitions.  Nearly everybody else was talking in mils, so making the switch made sense.  I also find the numbers easier to manage; 7.2 mils compared to 24.75 MOA for same distance.

Geb

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2016, 11:06:07 AM »

29aholic

• Target Painter
  • FNG
I like MOA personally, probably because I am used to it. My first decent scope had a mil reticle but moa turrets. I dial for elevation and hold for wind so I would build my range cards in moa for elevation and mils for wind.

I recently got a MK 4 Leupold that had a TMR reticle but still had moa turrets. The reticle was canted so when I sent it off I asked them to change the reticle to the new TSMOA reticle which they did...for free. I really like it so far but haven't had a chance to really get it out yet. It is kind of like a Horus but in moa.

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2016, 04:59:11 PM »

Raptor005

• Target Painter
  • Raptor